On Windows, when you map a network share, you can tick a box marked “Reconnect at login”, which will then cause the computer to reconnect to the share when you log back in. Not so on Mac OS, which can be a bit annoying. While the Cmd+K shortcut to connect to shares work fine, I don’t want to have to do it.
 
Luckily, there is a simple way to make it work, which may be familiar for Windows administrators; you add it to the login items, in much the same way that you might when creating a login script for an AD Domain user. Here’s how:
 

  • Open System Preferences
  • Under “System”, find “Users & Groups”
  • Highlight the user you want to add the share for, then go to the “Login items” tab
  • Click the plus-sign underneath the items listed, then browse to the share you want to map, then click “Add”
  • When you next log on, the share will pop up. To prevent that, click the checkbox to the left, in the “Hide”-column