Skip to content

Enabling or disabling the Switch User option

This article was been published more than a year ago. The information may be outdated.

Some time ago, a user called in, saying that the Switch User option had suddenly disappeared. I connected to her computer, and sure enough, there was no Switch User option in either the Lock Screen or the Ctrl+Alt+Del-screen, and the option was greyed out in the Start Menu. Luckily, getting it back was easy enough. Here’s how:

  1. Start the Local Group Policy Editor
  2. Navigate to Computer Configuration > Administrative Templates > System > Logon
  3. Open the policy called “Hide entry points for Fast User Switching”
  4. Modify the setting as desired, and click Apply:
    Hide entry points for Fast User Switching

The default setting is “Not Configured”. “Enabled” means that Fast User Switching options are not shown, and so the solution for my user, who wanted to have the option shown, was to Disable the setting.

Be First to Comment

By posting a comment, you consent to our collecting the information you enter. See privacy policy for more information.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.