Skip to content

Outlook: Mark deleted messages as read

A pet peeve of many users of Outlook is the fact that deleted messages that were unread when being deleted are counted in Deleted Items. Like the behavior when going from one unread email to another in the Reading Pane, there is a setting for this. Here’s how to change the behavior:

  • Go to File -> Options
  • Go to Mail
  • Scroll down to Other
  • Check the setting “Mark messages as read when deleted”:
Screenshot of Outlook Options, navigated to Mail and Other. The setting "Mark messages as read when deleted" is highlighted.

As with other settings that do not involve account settings, the change should take effect as soon as you click OK to exit the dialog box.

By posting a comment, you consent to our collecting the information you enter. See privacy policy for more information.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.